Submission & Rejection


I have recently decided to put myself out there as a writer the traditional way. I know all about the self-publishing paths and I see their merits, but I want more than anything to be published through an actual publisher. So I have begun submitting my work to little online competitions as a precursor. The thing is: I’m not sure how good of a judge this is or is going to be for my writing. I just wanted to see if any of my pieces were accepted by random people online before I submitted them to actual literary magazines.

Perhaps I should be going straight to the literary magazines for feedback? Maybe that’s the better route for someone who wants to be published the traditional way? I know I’m not writing in any niche genres, and that seems the only way that amateur writers are getting published lately… at least the ones about whom I know.

I’m afraid of that rejection letter – the one that says my work isn’t good enough or that it’s weak or uninteresting or common. I know it’s part of writing and that once the first couple are out of the way it will become much easier, but I also worry about finally putting myself out there. Silly, really, when I look at the situation logically because I know that there’s no way I’ll ever get published if I don’t send my work somewhere that might publish it.

Rejection: what a fear. It’s the reason people don’t always chase their dreams, the reason not to tell someone you love that you love them, and the reason so many artists stay in the closet about their works of art. What a fragile thing, the human ego. I think mine could use some more character building via pain. Submissions – here I come!

2 thoughts on “Submission & Rejection

  1. shybetts says:

    Big thing to keep in mind when submitting – a rejection letter does not necessarily mean your work is not good enough. Sometimes it means that the piece is just not what the publication is currently in need of.

    Don’t get discouraged if you get a few rejections. I like to think of each one as taking a step forward towards my publication goals. It may sound nuts, but I framed my first rejection. To me it meant I was on the path. I had begun the journey. You can’t get anywhere if you don’t get started!

    • Tatiana says:

      Thank you so much for the advice! This is something I keep having to remind myself. I can’t get published if I never try.

      And framing your first rejection with that reasoning in mind is a really good idea. I think I will have to do the same with any rejection I receive.

      Thanks so much for commenting, and have a lovely day! ^-^

Leave a Footprint

