To RP or not to RP


Writing Blocks

For quite some time now I have been a writer on several different Play-By-Post RPGs.  I have owned one, on which I was a co-administrator, and the experience was good while it lasted.  However, it became quite bad when the partnerships dissolved and the board idea (which I originally came up with), as well as several of my characters, all of the descriptions (which I wrote myself), and even some of my posts were simply copied and pasted into my now ex-partners’ new RPG.  Oh, but they wrote the new coding for it, which makes it all okay, apparently.

So as a result of this and a few other nasty experiences, my question has to be:  Is it worth it to put your writing out on the internet in such a way?  RPGs are places that writers often go to develop characters, storylines, and even whole worlds in an interactive…

View original post 203 more words

2 thoughts on “To RP or not to RP

  1. abbiecarrington says:

    You know, it’s pretty low of them to have stolen all your work like that…I mean honestly, who does that? This is the first time I’ve ever heard of someone running off with another person’s work online. I know it happens, but I don’t think it happens as often as you might imagine…still…I’m following your lead, personally, and being careful where I post my stuff.

    • Tatiana says:

      Yea, I’ve been being really careful, not posting most of my things online at all. However, I really do miss role playing online. I like creating characters, dropping them into this world with these other people and their characters, and just seeing what happens between them. I tried joining other RPs, but they just didn’t hold the same appeal that my own ideas do…and I don’t want to give my ideas up to other people. So I’m at a stand-still with this one.

Leave a Footprint

