The Countdown Resumes


When I first decided to quit my job, and go back to school to finish my college education, I began a countdown. It was in days, and I believe it started somewhere around day 71, though I could be wrong. This was a journaling countdown, written in every detail, and included things like what I was looking forward to, what I was worried about, and how I could barely stand to work my job from one day to the next for those remaining 70 days and counting. Now I am resuming that countdown.

I took a fulltime temporary position in my accounting office over the summer, thinking that I quite liked the job as well as my coworkers so that would probably be better than having to hunt down a second job, and I’m sure I was right on that point. However, working in this place fulltime has done nothing so much as remind me why I quit work to return to school in the first place. I cannot do this for much longer.

So I’m resuming my countdown: including today I have 15 days left until my vacation home, after which I return to fulltime classes, and my final semester at this school before transferring to one of the four year universities I have in mind. It might sound melodramatic, but I cannot take much more of this. The politics, the bitchiness, the laziness and resulting delegations of other people’s work…this is exactly why I left office work in the beginning. I’m done. This is not what I’m going to do with my life. I will make a living doing what I love; whatever it takes, I will.

15 days and counting!

Leave a Footprint

