World Building: NaNoWriMo Prep


Perhaps it’s overly ambitious of me, but I am currently prepping three different novels.  Not because I think I’ll finish all three before the end of November, but because I know myself well enough to know that if I prep only one of my ideas there’s a good chance that I’ll only be able to think of scenarios for one of my other stories.  I don’t want to tell myself that I cannot work on a project when I have ideas for it.

In the interest of doing this, I have begun world building all three worlds.  Now in fairness, I’ve been randomly world-building all three projects since I dreamt them up.  Until this morning, however, I had not yet begun the difficult work of setting up all of the rules that existed within any of these worlds.  To ensure I’ve covered all of my bases, I am working through these challenges – 30 Days of World Building: Master List.  Of course, to get a proper jump on NaNoWriMo I will be doing three of these challenges every day for the next 10 days for three separate stories.  After all, I want the chance to do some character development pre-NaNo, as well.

It’s actually kind of fun for day 1 to see how drastically different these three stories are.  Yes, they have some similar themes in a way.  Many authors, including some of the greats, write about similar themes all their lives, I’ve noticed.  However, they are also different enough in tone, mood, setting, and so on to be set apart from one another.  One will be dystopian/fantasy/horror where the two main characters are never settled, never feel safe, and always running from what is after them at any given time.  The next will be a post-apocalyptic/somewhat alien invasion-esque (in a way) story in which a major change in the world must settle over everyone within it before there can be peace… good luck with that.  And the final one is a high fantasy I’ve been dreaming up for AGES at this point that is really more of a comment on today’s educational system than anything else at this point, although there are definitely themes of societal norms and bullying mixed in there as well.

Honestly, I’m quite happy to finally be working – writing and building something – rather than being a victim of life and my own schedule where I only wish and dream of having the time to write.  Sure I only got three hours of sleep last night so that I could get up and write while still managing to be awake early enough to get to my 8am class on time, fit in homework time, and study for that quiz today, but it’s so worth it just to have something finally written down.  It’s such a relief to be getting it out of my head.

3 thoughts on “World Building: NaNoWriMo Prep

  1. carien.w says:

    Good luck!~ wish I could do this…just dont have the time in November.

    • Tatiana says:

      Thank you!

      I totally understand time constraints… boy, do I ever! Perhaps you can put aside some time in December or January instead? I mean, you won’t have the NaNo system pushing you, but what you can do is save those encouragement emails for the month you decide to do it then read them on the corresponding days that month. ^-^ It would totally work!

      I hope your writing time clears up soon, and thank you for your comment.

Leave a Footprint

