Writing Exercises: More NaNoWriMo Prep


Well, I’ve been world-building like mad for the three novels I’m still considering working on for NaNoWriMo.  No, I haven’t decided which of the three I’ll be working on yet, and that is why I’m world-building all of them.  I have, however, decided on something else to do in the meantime.

It really is quite difficult to start working on aspects of any novel idea, telling yourself the whole time, ‘No, you cannot start writing this yet.’  So to keep myself writing while putting off the stories I must wait to start telling, I have picked up a creative writing book full of excellent writing advice and exercises.  The book is called Method and Madness: The Making of a Story by Alice LaPlante.  It came to me highly recommended by people in my life as well as strangers online via reviews.  So I picked it up on Ebay (the book is being used as a textbook by a number of universities, and is quite expensive if you buy it new).

I intend to do a writing exercise a day until the end of the month.  I wish I’d found/received this book earlier for it would have been nice to finish the book and every exercise it offers before beginning my novel, whichever one I finally choose to write.  However many I end up doing though, I think it will be good preparation for the challenges NaNoWriMo is about to bring.

Why am I telling you this?  Well, I am going to share some of the results of these exercises with you.  Not because I think they’re particularly spectacular (I’m always developing my craft and growing as a writer), but because I don’t often get feedback on my writing.  My pieces are not out there for many people to see, yet.  (Still no word on the literary magazine front, though I’m quite hopeful.)  So this seems like a good place to post some exercises, if ever there was one.

These stories/exercises will be about events that have happened in my own life: my own observations and my own experiences.  I don’t intend to post every single one of them publicly, but as I would like some feedback I am willing to give out the password for those I decide to protect.  So if you would be interested in critiquing my exercises, please message me and/or leave me an email addy so that I can give you the password.  I should really just create a writing group, but that’s hard to do both on and offline.  This will have to do for now.

Anyway, thanks for reading my NaNoWriMo Prep thoughts, and have a lovely Friday!  ^-^

Leave a Footprint

