NaNoWriMo: Day 19


Written Today:  1,081
Current Total:  43,131

I must admit, I’ve hit a bit of a block with my novel.  I have spent the past month now world-building, and it has made me sick of this world I’ve dreamt up.  Apparently, this is when authors are most ready to begin work on their narrative, but I’ve been struggling with getting back into mine now that the grunt work of laying down the story’s foundations is mostly complete.  My mind keeps drifting off to other stories and other characters that do not fit into or exist within the constraints of my post-apocalyptic chronicles, and I’m debating whether or not to pull it back.

I also know that I haven’t updated in about a week at this stage, for which I apologize.  The fun thing about participating in NaNoWriMo as a college student is that things like school and work and life tend to swallow me whole every once in a while, and refuse to allow me access to the world outside of their walls long enough to write let alone update you wonderful readers about my progress.  I am, however, nearly done with the 50 thousand word goal, and though much of it is actually character and world building, I feel that this has been the most productive NaNoWriMo for me out of the four years I’ve participated.  Why?  Because even though I didn’t get much written that I feel might be usable in my novel, I feel better prepared to write the stories ahead than I ever have before.  Not to mention that I don’t feel as though I just wasted a bunch of time and 50 thousand words of effort on stuff that sucks or needs so much editing that I might as well begin anew.

I have a beginning.

Speaking of beginnings: the first theme for my 100 Theme Challenge has been posted.  Please, follow the link, and enjoy.

Thank you for reading, and have a lovely evening.

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Day 19

  1. I’m ambivalent about NaNo… There is some good that can come from it, but I’m skeptical about it on the whole. It seems that the energy spent getting to that 50K level could be better spent on an array of other writing enhancements.
    Anyway, grats, and what genre are you writing?
    Daniel

    • Tatiana says:

      I’m writing in the post-apocalyptic genre, but intermixing fantasy and horror into it. To be honest, I’m not entirely sure what genre that puts the overall story into, but I’m going to stick with post-apocalyptic until someone in an editor/publisher/agent capacity tells me otherwise. 😉

Leave a Footprint

